Car Seats & Car Accidents: Safety Suggestions
As you’re driving your kids to and fro, you naturally want to keep them as safe as possible. Properly securing your kids can go a long way toward avoiding or minimizing injuries if in a car accident.
In this blog, the Louisiana personal injury attorneys atMike Brandner Injury Attorneys offer tips to help you and your kids travel as safely as possible.
Follow the state’s seat belt and car seat law
Louisiana state law requires the following restraints:
- Under 1 year old or weighing less than 20 pounds – in a rear-facing child safety seat
- From 1 to 4 years old and weighing 20 to 40 pounds – in a forward-facing child safety seat
- At least 4 but younger than 6 years old or weighing 40 to 60 pounds – in a child booster seat
- At least 6 years old or weighing more than 60 pounds – restrained with a seat belt or an appropriately fitting child booster seat
If your child falls under more than one category based on their age and weight, choose the most protective option.
If you don’t secure your child in any type of restraint system, the police can pull you over for this. When using the wrong type of restraint, you can receive a ticket only if pulled over for a moving violation. In either case, you may face fines, fees, and court costs.
Choosing the correct car seats
Choosing the right car seat can be confusing since there are so many choices. Safe Kids offers the following tips:
- Read the label – Each child seat comes with an attached label stating its height, weight, and age limits.
- Don’t buy used car seats –You can’t be sure that a used car seat hasn’t been in a crash that has damaged it in ways you can’t see.
- Register your seat –Fill out the registration card that comes with your seat so you can be notified of any recalls.
- Installing your car seat –Your child’s car seat needs to be properly installed to ensure that it provides the most protection possible and can help avoid serious injuries during an accident.
Certified Passenger Safety Technicians (CPSTs) are available in New Orleans and throughout the state to help you make sure your child’s seat is properly installed. They can also give you advice on when to buy the next type of seat and other useful information.
Getting help from Louisiana passenger injury attorneys
If your child or another passenger has been injured in a car accident, call Louisiana passenger injury attorneys at Mike Brandner Injury Attorneys at (504) 345-1111. We offer free consultations, and you’ll pay no fee unless we win your case. Visit our office from 8 a.m.-5 p.m., or call us 24/7. You can also use the LiveChat feature on our website to talk to us online.